BLOG | PREFERRED PROVIDERS | NWI INTERNATIONAL | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Become a Member
Re-certification FAQs
Share |

NWI Re-certification Frequently Asked Questions

IMPORTANT: If you hold a valid Certified Worksite Wellness Specialist (CWWS), Certified Worksite Wellness Program Manager (CWWPM), or Wellness in Clinical Practice (WCP) certification or are registered for one of these programs, please click here to learn about NWI's new certification and professional certificate structure and how it affects your current certification.

Should I re-certify?

CWP: If you are a Certified Wellness Practitioner, you must re-certify every 5 years to maintain your credential. You are required to earn continuing education credits (CECs) during each certification cycle, ensuring knowledge and skills are current and relevant in the rapidly evolving field of health and wellness.

CWWS/CWWPM/WCP: If your CWWS, CWWPM, or WCP certification expires between March 1, 2016, and December 31, 2018, you may choose to renew your credential(s) for an additional three years by meeting your original re-certification requirements. These requirements are detailed in the questions below. Please click here to learn about NWI's new certification and professional certificate structure and how it affects your current certification.

How do I re-certify?

To re-certify, you must complete the following:

  1. Submit documentation of the required number and types of CECs for your certification.
  2. Submit the current re-certification fee.

CEC review will begin once the re-certification fee is submitted. You will be able to pay your fee beginning 120 days before your expiration date. To ensure continuous certification, the re-certification fee should be submitted at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the current certification period.

How much is the re-certification fee?

The re-certification fees are currently:

  • $350 for Certified Wellness Practitioners (CWP)
  • $70 for individuals whose Certified Worksite Wellness Specialist (CWWS), Program Manager (CWWPM), or Wellness in Clinical Practice (WCP) certification expires between 3/1/2016 and 12/31/2018.

Please note that re-certification fees are nonrefundable.

How do I pay my re-certification fee?

You will receive an automated e-mail message 120 days before your certification expires with instructions on how to pay your re-certification fee. Please notify us if you are not receiving NWI e-mails. If you are not getting e-mail messages from us, you will not receive your notification message.

How many CECs do I need to re-certify?

The number and types of CECs you need to re-certify is based on the certification you hold and when your your certification expires:

  • CWP: 50 CECs must be earned during every 5-year certification cycle

  • CWWS/CWWPM/WCP: If your certification expires between 3/1/2016 and 12/31/2018 you are required to earn 25 CECs before your expiration date if you wish to renew your credential for three years.

Please review the re-certification section of the policies and procedures manual specific to your certification for more details on the types of CECs needed to re-certify:

What counts for CEC?

To ensure a well-rounded and professional level of continuing education, CECs are organized into the following categories:

  • Category 1: CE Activity pre-approved by NWI or CWCE

  • Category 2: CE Activity not pre-approved by NWI or CWCE
    Category 2 CE Activities must:
  1. meet required content areas for each certification (which can be found in your certification's policies and procedures manual),
  2. be intended for an audience of wellness professionals, and
  3. not be part of the certified individual's daily job requirements.

For more details, please review Appendix A - Continuing Education Credit Types and Descriptions in your certification's policies and procedures manual.

How do I submit CECs?

Category 1 CECs are automatically documented and applied toward re-certification if:

  • the event is attended in full, and
  • the program evaluation form is submitted.

Instructions on reporting Category 1 CECs will be communicated as opportunities become available. Submit CECs from academic coursework as you would for Category 2 CECs described below.

Category 2 CECs are submitted via this online form.

How do I know how many CECs I have?

NWI members and CWPs are able to view the number of CECs they have accumulated toward re-certification in their Certification Journal when logged in to The Certification Journal can be accessed at (or by visiting the "Manage Profile" page and scrolling down to the "Professional Development" section). Non-members are able to request a transcript via this form. Please note it may take up to 5 business days to process your request. We appreciate your patience. You are strongly encouraged to keep a personal record of the number and types of CECs achieved.

What if I have multiple NWI certifications?

If you have multiple NWI certifications, the re-certification requirements for each certification must be met. However, NWI recognizes CWWS and CWWPM as different levels of the same certification. If you have both CWWS and CWWPM, you are only required to maintain the CWWPM certification.

Have additional questions? Call 715.342.2969 or e-mail